FOLLOW US ON: follow us in feedly
Sonic Assassins cleared for Space Flight: Hawkwind ‘In Concert’, from 1972
01:39 pm

Forty years ago this month, a strange and distant signal was picked up on radio receivers across the UK.

Amongst the hiss, and static interference, a dialog could be heard….

‘This is London, Earth. This is London, Earth. This is London, Earth. This is London, Earth.’

‘Mothership Control in readiness. Sonic Assassins cleared for Space Flight. Countdown starting now. Thirty…’

‘Countdown started. All Units prepare for activation.’

‘Twenty Five…’

‘Production Androids activated. Now!’


‘Audience Recept Units, activated, NOW!’


‘Music Distribution Equipment. Activated. Now!’

‘10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4…’

‘All Units activated. Countdown terminated.’

‘...3, 2, 1. Countdown complete.’

‘All Units functioning. Movement commencing. We have lift-off. We have music.’

‘We have….Hawkwind!

This is the audio recording of that night’s broadcast. Hawkwind live in concert from the Paris Theater, London, September 29th, 1972. Transmitted by BBC Radio 1 on October 14th.

Track listing:

01. “Countdown”
02. “Born to Go”
03. “The Black Corridor”
04. “Seven by Seven”
05. “Brainstorm”
06. “Electronic No. 1”
07. “Master of the Universe”
08. “Paranoia”
09. “Earth Calling”
10. “Silver Machine”
11. “Welcome to the Future”

Bonus: for those who want pictures - Hawkwind Out of the Shadows.

Track listing:

01. “Aero Space Age Inferno”
02. “Angels Of Death”
03. “Out Of The Shadows”
04. “Time Captives”
05. “Master Of the Universe”
06. “The Song Of The Gremlins”
07. “Time & Confusion”
08. “Hurry On Sundown”
09. “Lighthouse”
10. “The Watcher”
11. “Assassins Of Allah”
12. “Earth Calling”
13. “Sonic Space Attack”
14. “Silver Machine”


Posted by Paul Gallagher
01:39 pm



comments powered by Disqus